RSS

For the Journey…

25 May

Hello, greetings and such like!

Welcome to my world, well a new part of it at least.

An online account of all things Blunders.

Thank you for stopping by and I hope that you will do regularly. This will be a place where thoughts are developed, life is shared and hopefully community deepened.

I hope that it will become a mix of all the various streams of my life.

So, first post…where to start?

You will find on this page a tab marked Liturgy Project. So, I thought I’d start here.

Liturgy has become a bit of a fascination of mine in recent years. What was once an archaic, monotone, boring part of a church service has now become a staple, refreshing part of my prayer life.

I love the idea of using words that have been prayed for centuries. The idea that these words helped shaped the prayers and lives of followers of Jesus throughout history and that they are still relevant today is awesome!

But, even more so, as I have come to understand liturgy and its uses,  I have slowed down in my praying and I begin to think about the words and phrases that I use in conversation with my heavenly Father. There are times when I need to pray direct from the heart prayers that make no sense to the rest of the world, but there are also times when thinking slowly and methodically through my prayer times has brought great freedom.

So, as part of my continued exploration of liturgy, I have started a little project in the background of all my other projects! The project is to create a complete set of prayers based from the Gospel of John.

I love the Gospel of John, I love his use of language and pictures to create an awesome picture of Jesus. From this starting place I hope to create a selection of prayers that continue to add to our pictures of Jesus.

Here is the first one, see what you think and maybe you would like to use it in your prayer times in the coming weeks,

Grace and Peace,

Steve

In the beginning Father, in the beginning Jesus, in the beginning Spirit

Glory to God – Amen

Jesus is the Word of God

Jesus was with and was God in the beginning

Through Jesus all things were made

In Jesus there is life

In Jesus we have life

In Jesus there is light

In Jesus we have light

Jesus became flesh and lived amongst us

Jesus came from the Father, full of grace and truth

Jesus is the Lamb of God

Jesus takes away the sins of the world

Jesus came with a purpose

Jesus came to destroy the works of the evil one

Through Jesus’ blood we have peace

In this moment here and now

We give glory to the Father and

to the Son and to the Holy Spirit;

as it was in the beginning is now

and shall be for ever.

Amen.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2011 in Liturgy Project

 

3 responses to “For the Journey…

  1. Melanie Botting

    May 25, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Excellent Steve!! Looking forward to reading your blog 🙂

     
  2. Glen

    May 25, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Amen (said the Anglican!)

    🙂

     
  3. joy blundell

    June 5, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    i like it Steve, good work! Might use it one Sunday at NL? Looking forward to reading your blog x

     

Let me know your thoughts...

 
