RSS

WWJT…

06 Jul

20110705-142920.jpg

Welcome once again,

Yesterday I stumbled across a post entitled “If Jesus was on twitter”. I’m sure it must have been done before, but it was a very interesting post that wondered what life would be like if you could tweet Jesus and get 140 character answers to the questions you have. Like what job should you apply for? Who should you take to the prom? What should I do today?

It did seem to me a little bit like a genie-Jesus, where you could rub Him and he would magically give you the answers. But, it did get me thinking, what would Jesus tweet

I went to the start of Jesus’ public mission in Luke 4 where he reads from Isaiah 61,

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim liberty to the captives and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favour.” (Luke 4:18-19 ESV)

The I thought about sermon on the mount in Matthew 5 where Jesus tells his followers the beatitudes;

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

“Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

“Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.

“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

“Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

“Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you. (Matt. 5:3-12 ESV)

Or when he sums up what it is to follow him, by loving God and loving others. I think Jesus’ tweets would come from these scriptures. They would be encouraging us to love God, asking us to stand firm, to endure, to receive his love, his grace, his peace.

To bless others, to build up and strengthen each other, to look to serve, to be Jesus to those we know and love.

They would remind us of his promises to us, reminding us that we are blessed, that His Holy Spirit is with us, that we can do great things through Him. To tell others of what he has done in our lives, to tell others of his grace, love, mercy and peace.

Here’s my thought;

My Spirit is upon you, because I have anointed you to proclaim good news to the poor. Bless them in my name! #thingsjesusmighttweet

So, over to you – what would Jesus tweet?

Also, what would life be like if we kept short 140 character conversations with Jesus in our everyday moments?

Have a think about it and drop me a comment.

Grace and peace,

Steve

p.s. Remember you can subscribe to this blog if you would like to know when new posts are up. Please use the email subscriptions box to the right of this post.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Let me know your thoughts...

 
