RSS

Narrowing our options…

01 Aug

 

 

Hello again,

Thank you for all your comments and retweets of Mrs.Blunders last few posts. You can now find MrsB’s previous work on a separate page on the top of this blog, in case you have missed any previous posts.

We return back to our journey through the Gospel of John – we are now into chapter 2 and the wedding at Cana.

I love a good wedding!

I’m even starting to enjoy wearing a tie and looking (nearly!) smart.

Sometimes I do feel like this passage of scripture is brought out to prove that Christians can enjoy a good wedding and what the happy couple are doing is blessed by Jesus. While I  do believe that this is a right and legitamet use of these scriptures I can’t help but feel that there may have been more going on than God just providing a reading to be used in wedding ceremonies!

So, let’s take a closer look;

On the third day a wedding took place at Cana in Galilee. Jesus’ mother was there, and Jesus and his disciples had also been invited to the wedding. When the wine was gone, Jesus’ mother said to him, “They have no more wine.”

“Woman, why do you involve me?” Jesus replied. “My hour has not yet come.” His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”

Nearby stood six stone water jars, the kind used by the Jews for ceremonial washing, each holding from twenty to thirty gallons. Jesus said to the servants, “Fill the jars with water”; so they filled them to the brim. Then he told them, “Now draw some out and take it to the master of the banquet.”

They did so, and the master of the banquet tasted the water that had been turned into wine. He did not realize where it had come from, though the servants who had drawn the water knew. Then he called the bridegroom aside and said, “Everyone brings out the choice wine first and then the cheaper wine after the guests have had too much to drink; but you have saved the best till now.”

What Jesus did here in Cana of Galilee was the first of the signs through which he revealed his glory; and his disciples believed in him. John 2:1-11 NIV

My journey starts at Jesus’ reply to his mother, “My hour has not yet come”.

I wonder what Jesus meant by this?

Here is my thought; I do not believe that all of Jesus’ life was shaped out before Him, I think there were many things that He knew from his reading of the OT that he knew he would have to fulfil (Isaiah 53). I think that there were many things that he knew he would need to do, like choosing disciples – but did not know who would fulfil those criteria (you can read more on this here, Being Sought). In order to choose the twelve from the many, Jesus spent a whole night in prayer asking the Father which ones to choose (Luke 6:12-15) .

I would even go as far as to say that He knew that someone at some point was going to betray Him, and Judas through life decisions fulfilled this role – Judas (in my opinion) was not for all eternity set aside to betray Jesus.

Judas  made decisions throughout his life that shaped his character, decisions that shaped his picture of the Messiah. He was expecting Jesus to take Rome by storm and set the Jews free. Jesus was all about setting people free, but under His rules and His way. As I said this is my opinion with which you are welcome to disagree with! 😉

I think the “time” reference was probably to do with Jesus public ministry being revealed.

Jesus was looking for when the start of His public ministry would begin, but all the while knowing that when it did start it was going to end in one place and one place alone. He knew from the moment he made himself known publicly, that it would end at the cross. This may be why Jesus does the miracle off to the side of the wedding celebrations and only in front of the disciples. He knew that as word spread about Him that it was going to really start narrowing His options and I believe He wanted to build up a steady head of steam and make sure He had time to teach the disciples along the way.

We will see as we progress through the Gospel of John that Jesus becomes more and more public in His ministry leading up to His ultimate public statement; His death and resurrection.

Now, every day we make decisions that narrow our way. Every decision we make in some way narrows our options. If we chose “this” over “that”, then “that” is no longer an option. We have narrowed our way.

We must choose Jesus with all that we have and live for Him and for His glory alone. As we do this the options to go the other way are diminished. As we choose Jesus (this), the world (that) is no longer an option.

God is looking for His people to truly choose Him.

A people that will call to Him, that will stand up for the poor, the orphans, the widows, the marginalised, the hurt, the broken, the hungry, the suffering and the lost.

We are called to pray like it all depends on God and love and live like it all depends on us.

So, what part will you play?

How will you narrow your options today?

Let me know your thoughts and look out for MrsB’s next post around Wednesday/Thursday,

Grace and peace

Steve

p.s. As a separate note John is using the word ‘sign’ as a clue throughout his Gospel. John is setting up a series of signpost to guide us through his account of Jesus’ life to point to what he sees is the bigger picture of Jesus’ coming. But more on that in future weeks….

Today’s Prayer

Father of all creation,

May I be known as a true follower of Jesus,

I choose today to narrow my options,

To choose Christ and Him alone,

To stand on His promises, that He will never leave or forsake me.

I want to learn to pray,

To speak the words of heaven over all I meet.

To see your kingdom come,

To see your will be done,

To live with only one option; Jesus.

I want to live like this today and everyday!

Holy Spirit, revive me again, cause your word to come alive in me!

Speak afresh to me that I may understand you and your ways,

In Jesus name,

Amen

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Let me know your thoughts...

 
