RSS

[Guest Post] Read, listen, watch…

02 Sep

Mrs B back with you and I thought I would do a little blog about things I’ve read, listened to and watched just recently, whilst I think of a topic for my next few posts.

READ…

I’ve just finished reading ‘Room’ by Emma Donaghue. I’d never heard of it, read reviews or had it recommended to me. I just picked it up in Waterstones, read the back cover and liked the sound of it:

“Jack lives with his Ma in Room, which has a locked door and a skylight, and measures 11 feet by 11 feet. He loves watching TV, and the cartoon characters he calls friends, but he knows that nothing he sees on screen is truly real – only him, Ma and the things in Room. Until the day Ma admits that there’s a world outside . . .”

Told in Jack’s voice, Room is the story of a mother and son whose love lets them survive the impossible. Unsentimental and sometimes funny, devastating yet uplifting, Room is a novel like no other.”

I can’t tell you anything about it – because I’m rubbish at keeping secrets and don’t want to give anything away – but it was defintely one of those books that had me hooked from beginning to end. At one point I let out a huge sigh of relief – not realising until that point that I’d been holding me breath for about 3 pages!

It’s sad, and funny, and thought provoking and brilliant.

LISTEN…

Our favourite ‘car CD’ at the moment is 10,000 Reasons by Matt Redman. I say ‘our’ because both the boys have their own favourite tracks, and as soon I tell HJ (16 months) that we’re getting in the car he starts singing his! Now, I must confess that in general, I’m not a big fan of Christian music. I think there’s lots of rather average stuff around that gets sales, attention and great reviews just because of the ‘big name’ who has released it. So I didn’t expect to be so impressed by this album, which is packed with brilliant tracks and some really outstanding lyrics. EJ (3 and a half) loves ‘number 8’ which is actually called We Could Change the World .

I love the lyrics of the chorus:

“Yes, our God is all He says, all He says He is
Jesus, in Your name we could change the world
We stand in Your love, in Your power
And all You say we are
Jesus, in Your name we could change the world”

And I love listening to EJ belt it out – I’m praying that he’ll always have a relationship with Jesus that means he can make these declarations, and I look forward to seeing how he changes the world in Jesus’ name!

I’ve also become reacquainted with the soundtrack from the musical We Will Rock You. I know that opinion is a bit divided on this musical – Queen fans don’t like the fact that the music’s been messed around a bit and musical theatre fans don’t like the fact it’s just a bunch of Queen songs held together with a rather tenous storyline. It was the first musical I managed to drag Steve to see in the West End, and the live cast recording is exceptional. Lovin’ it.

WATCH…

My best girl crush, Cherry Healey has been back on BBC3 with a short run of documentaries. The most recent was called ‘Cherry’s Body Dilemmas’ and you can still watch it here – BBCiplayer (as an aside, I love iplayer. We don’t have Sky, so can’t Sky+ things and I find myself watching a lot of stuff on my trusty laptop!).

I’m a bit in love with Cherry.

Mr B will confirm that I’ve said that I want to be her. It’s true. She’s fab and she makes funny, interesting, balanced documentaries. As someone who has worked with teenage girls around topics of body image and self esteem, and battled my own body image demons (I’m finally resignd to the fact that my flat stomach is long gone, thanks to the two beautiful mini-men in my life) I was really interested to watch as she interviewed a range of women with very different views. Word of warning; she make a visit to a naturist camp – full frontal nudity – try not to laugh too much!

Last night me and Blunders watched “Never Let Me Go”. Those of you who know me well will know that I am not a film buff. There’s loads of classics that I’ve never seen, and loads of current stuff that I haven’t heard of. Which means that sending me to Blockbuster to choose the DVD is always a bit of a risk. This one sounded OK from the blurb on the box;

“Kathy, Ruth and Tommy are best friends who grow up together at an English boarding school with a chilling secret. When they learn the shocking truth – that they are genetically engineered clones raised to be organ donors – they embrace their fleeting chance to live and love. Based on the acclaimed novel by Kazuo Ishiguro, Never Let Me Go is an intriguing exploration of hope and humanity”

It is a fascinating movie.

After watching it I read some of the reviews online and it seems that reactions are really mixed – a bit of a marmite movie. I have to say I neither loved it nor hated it. It was beautifully shot and there were some fantastic performances (Keira Knightley is annoying though. She always is). There were some bits that didn’t make sense, and some questions that were unanswered, but if you can put those things aside it’s well worth a watch. As always, reviewers commented that the book is much better than the film, so excuse me now as I head over to the Kindle store to download it…

Let me know your read, listen, watch recommendations in the comment box!

Love
Mrs B x

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in Book Reviews, Eastbourne, Jesus

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Let me know your thoughts...

 
